whitepigeon foreverly






raisong again

ruley

The thing I have to do when Dead or Alive's "Brand New Lover" comes on: when it gets to the lines "somebody who likes me / who doesn't notice all the others" I waggle my finger side-to-side in the air, in the traditional "no-no" or "you're a bad baby" way.

The For-Why: (crazy/specific) I think connected to Dave telling me about Phoebe Jones' elementary school talent show performance of "You Belong To Me" and the line that says "stay away from bootleg hooch" and the way she did her finger (which Dave demonstrates every time, for the last 10 years).

Song that was in my head all Summer of 2004 long, all of it, with only a 6-minute break on the 28th of August, that somehow came to signal Good Luck For Me: The Boomtown Rats, "Up All Night".

The For-Why: The sexed-out mumble(?) that Bob Geldof (assumption) does after each chorus of "Up / All / Night" -- it's something like "oooooyneajhaysuhn". Can anyone transcribe this?

Truism Then Found: any song with a delayed/overlapping "call-and-response" is so blessed with yes, maybe right up there with songs with handclaps you can join in with (everyone knows this) and songs with whispery count-ins (like The Police's "Invisible Sun," which I talk about way too much). Best go-to example = Pixies "Debaser" and the Frank Black/Kim Deal yin yang of:

FB: "DEBASER!!"
KD (a microsecond after him): "Debaser..."

fell on 2004-09-29 at 10:39 p.m.

<< o >>



hunting hi/lo

neu!
way old
profile
email
host



last five to fall

Grishko & Co. - 2022-12-23
badfellows - 2022-12-02
work 4 love - 2022-10-26
week that was - 2022-10-02
Whitsett and I - 2022-09-30



some friendly

boombasticat
pettyquarrel
ernst
orangepeeler
spectralyne
valueape
youradhere