whitepigeon foreverly






typo, typee

I'm loitering at my dad and stepmarm's for a few days...I'm tucked into a guest bedroom/office in the back (decorative theme = nautical banker garden?), sipping a margarita oozing onto a yarn cross-stitch Christmas coaster (did I make this in some long-forgotten kindergarten kraft fair?) and reading Philip Roth's Letting Go. The 'rents are entertaining a few neighbors called the Fat Boringsunburns. I know, such a Mean Girl.

There is a skinny box in the garage. On the spine, it says 'LOVE: Made in Taiwan'.

Back to the book -- I think I found basically the best duality ever. On page 366, Gabe Wallach is worrying about his friend-enemy (frenemy) couple the Herzes and their weird delicate-violent ways. He admits, "I had begun to hate both Herzes for the crazed and wild sparing of one another that they engaged in at the expense of others..." Sparring is actually the word you expect, the one your brain sees there to describe a fight, but sparing...sparing is the careful opposite, and it is just as perfect for the loving-mean characters, and I love it very much.

Also, I have the nose hairs of an old man! My dad just brought me a glass of wine and reported that everyone is talking about cruises. Then he rolled his eyes. Dads.

ADDENDUM for a few hours later: very wrong about the Fatties; they're pretty funny and they wink at me and are teaching me about technology in Ireland and things that it's fine to cheat on.

fell on 2004-09-18 at 6:18 p.m.

<< o >>



hunting hi/lo

neu!
way old
profile
email
host



last five to fall

Grishko & Co. - 2022-12-23
badfellows - 2022-12-02
work 4 love - 2022-10-26
week that was - 2022-10-02
Whitsett and I - 2022-09-30



some friendly

boombasticat
pettyquarrel
ernst
orangepeeler
spectralyne
valueape
youradhere