whitepigeon foreverly






hugs not drugs? hugs AND drugs.

Today I saw Blow and realized that I have a soft spot for a certain type of movie: the tender narcotic film. I thought Blow was very nice, and it had it all -- true love, best buddies and capers, and gobs of pharmacologicals. Dazed and Confused also comes to mind. Maybe something about the extreme 'naughtiness' of the coke/the happy plant/the blah-blah and the co-pilot niceness of starry smiles and deep kisses and cracking jokes. They strike a balance, they do.

I think liking Blow is a sort of nostalgia for me, though. No no, not a powdery, pill-based longing for my smokey tokey days (like there were any), but a specific Dazed pang...the elder was, after all, a big bonding point for me in high school (when it came out) and since, in new friendships and even jobs. I also see a few Dazed/Blow threads:

-The model-actress who does little but evokes the era and wears a halter top: Milla Jovovich (D and C) and James King/Monet Mazur (B).

-Presidential things: Tony's Abe Lincoln dream (D and C) and George offering to teach his class of criminals in jail "only half of the George Washington shit" or somesuch (B).

-signs o' the times (though Blow covers several decades, I know, but I like these list things in threes) and the look and probably other very specific things.

Also, neither movie made me want to do any drugs at all.

fell on 2001-04-10 at 7:26 p.m.

<< o >>



hunting hi/lo

neu!
way old
profile
email
host



last five to fall

tea tree tears - 2019-12-21
yearwatermark - 2019-12-04
Sheetspeare - 2017-08-20
other (v)rooms - 2017-08-10
b.a. part II - 2017-05-25



some friendly

pettyquarrel
dirtyboots
boombasticat
ernst
orangepeeler
spectralyne
valueape
youradhere