whitepigeon foreverly






Glamoramble

I received the below from a former student this very morning. Why this book (I probably couldn't get away with teaching it) and why these questions = ?. Nonetheless, Summer Reading is Fun.

Subject: Glamorama

Hello Professor (Whitepigeon),

I was wondering if you knew what the symbolism of the mountain being Victor's future at the end of the book. Also, an instance of this happens at the end, and it is Victor's impersonator. This is a definite reference to his old band, who is taking his place in the States. I was wondering what this whole deal with the impersonator means...a satirical view of the shallowness of society? Thank you for your time and I hope you have a great rest of the summer.

Sincerely,

M---- K----

p.s. Are you returning to (university I teach at) next year? I would enjoy talking to you more about this book.

Hey, M---- K----. Let's see. The things that spring to mind about this excellent read are 1) very oily supermodel sex x 367 on a cruise ship and 2) open wounds and 3) coke (mountains of it...oh hey, there you go!) and 4) a cameo by Bridget Fonda. And, of course, symbolism and...doppelgangers and, you know, man's search for selfhood in the post-modern gallery of floating signifiers. Let me just check my, uh, lecture notes.

fell on 2004-08-12 at 9:37 a.m.

<< o >>



hunting hi/lo

neu!
way old
profile
email
host



last five to fall

Grishko & Co. - 2022-12-23
badfellows - 2022-12-02
work 4 love - 2022-10-26
week that was - 2022-10-02
Whitsett and I - 2022-09-30



some friendly

boombasticat
pettyquarrel
ernst
orangepeeler
spectralyne
valueape
youradhere