hunting hi/lo

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

private press

Book-Year Yearbook, '23!

Top book (new): Miriam by Kate Riley

A wildling's reckoning with liturgy, turbidity, and calico. Last winter, I was Fortune's favorite and snagged an early edition in advance of its rebirth (coming in late '24 from Riverhead) // previously pub'ed excerpts are here and here.

Top book (old-a$$): Les Liaisons dangereuses by Pierre Chodleros de Laclos*

A chance reconnection with the delicious film inspired my belated read, and I toted it to work and back because h0rny devastation is a balm (or complicator?) for open office hours. Now my #1 epistolary novel, and that's saying a lot in this cherished, medium-but-mighty genre. Def ahead of dustbuster Dracula (which, of course, rules; I will not anger my Gothic brethren and sistren).

Top "moments 'tween the pages": M. reading A Christmas Carol in bed and doing the voices/forgetting each voice by the next evening and interpreting anew; my mom getting into Edith Wharton ("she's sad!"); subscribing to Dance Magazine for the centerfolds coverage of company promotions and William Forsythe commissions.

*too much fun to type

1:48 p.m. - 2023-12-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

other diaries:

browndamask
orangepeeler
evany
pettyquarrel
boombasticat
ernst
spectralyne
valueape
youradhere