whitepigeon's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

mon amour

Martin Amis.

Missed Assignment: I was once scheduled to write a Los Angeles Review of Books piece on re-reading his debut and coming-of-age cartwheel The Rachel Papers as an older person, but I slid away and cited teaching, a new relationship, an old lack of courage.

Molly, Always: My sterling bud Molly Young and I first touched e-fingers thanks to our shared delight in M.A.; I convinced her to brush her teeth by referencing John Self's crumbling orthodontia.

Massive Arbiter: All of my mainest inamoratos/tas are instructors of the first water. He taught me to stop treating reading as recess and get down to the work required by the last era's best (James, Austen, Nabokov, and many others). I also snag on repetition thanks to his tsk-tsk, which may have been a lesson he caught from Kingsley or Philip Larkin.

The hottest stylist, the coooolest mind, and better than his dad above, whom I also love. One of maybe 11 writers who photograph well; all snarl and couch-slide. Bless his stacked heels, yen for video games, and Talent (, Keith).

5:20 p.m. - 2023-05-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

browndamask
orangepeeler
evany
pettyquarrel
boombasticat
ernst
spectralyne
valueape
youradhere